Employers have a duty to pay employees at least minimum wage for every hour they work. While some employers try to skimp on this, most pay without issue. The employees are the ones who suffer when employers become greedy and try to lower pay.
All employees must understand what hourly pay rate applicable laws guarantee them. Consider these two points about minimum wage in California:
State minimum wage
The state minimum wage in California is $15.50 for employers of all sizes as of January 2023. That will increase on January 1, 2024, to $16.00 statewide. This hourly wage is the basis of the overtime exemption for salaried employees. A salaried employee must make at least $66,560 per year to meet the threshold for overtime exemption.
City-specific minimum wage
Some cities have higher minimum wage amounts. Where these are present, employers must pay the higher amount. As of January 1, 2023, the San Diego minimum wage is $16.30. It will increase to $16.85 as of January 1, 2024. That city-specific minimum wage applies to any worker who works within the city limits for at least two hours per week in at least one week per year. San Diego also guarantees sick leave accrual of up to 80 hours per year based on one hour earned per 30 hours worked.
Employees who aren’t paid at least minimum wage may have a wage and hour claim, which should lead to them receiving the pay they’re due. They may need to seek the assistance of someone who understands the intricacies of this employment area.