If you have been reading our San Diego employment law blog for awhile now, you may have come to realize that there are many people who face a variety of challenges in the workplace. Perhaps you have even realized that you have had your rights as an employee violated at one point or another. Although there are state and federal laws in place to make sure employers create safe and respectful workplaces, thousands of employees continue to face unpleasant experiences in the workplace every year.
Some issues that continue to affect employees in California and throughout the entire country are wage and hour law violations. Employees may work in environments that do not tolerate harassment or discrimination, but their rights may still be violated by their employers if their employers fail to properly compensate them for their hours worked.
Warehouse workers, restaurant employees and domestic employees are commonly affected by wage and hour law violations in Southern California. Those who frequently work overtime may also be victims of wage and hour law violations if they do not receive overtime pay. Fortunately, employers may soon find it to be more difficult to get away with not compensating workers properly in California. Earlier this week, it was reported that a new bill that would increase minimum wage requirements in California will now advance to the Assembly floor.
Some major employer organizations are against the new bill, which would increase the state’s minimum wage from $8.00 per hour to $9.25 per hour by 2016. Employers argue that this increase would harm their businesses, but those who support Assembly Bill 10 claim that this bill is vital to making sure employees earn sufficient incomes to keep up with the cost of living in California. Employees need to support themselves and their families, and employers have a duty to make sure they compensate their employees properly for their work.
If the bill is passed, employers will need to make sure they comply with any changes regarding minimum wage requirements. Employers who fail to properly compensate workers for their work may face legal consequences for their actions. If you believe that you are a victim of wage theft, you may want to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible to make sure you receive the compensation you are lawfully entitled to receive.
Source: Ventura County Star, “California lawmakers take first step toward raising minimum wage,” Timm Herdt, April 24, 2013